Watch Rugby World Cup 2015 Live online


Introduction to the Rugby World Cup

The Rugby World Cup is a rugby union tournament contested every four years between top international men’s teams. The competition started in 1987, when it was co-hosted by both New Zealand and Australia. The latest tournament was held in 2011 in New Zealand. The New Zealand national team won the tournament by beating France in the final.

The champions are awarded the William Webb Ellis Cup, named after William Webb Ellis, who according to myth, invented rugby by picking up the ball during a football game. Throughout its history, three teams have won the trophy twice, Australia, New Zealand, and South Africa.

The competition is managed by World Rugby, the sport’s international governing body. While sixteen teams were invited to participate in the first tournament in 1987, since 1999 twenty teams have taken part.

The 2015 World Cup, which will be the 8th Rugby World cup, will be hosted by England, from 18th September to 31st October. Twickenham Stadium in London will host the final.

Additionally, the event in 2019 has been confirmed to be hosted by Japan.

Host selection

England was chosen to host the 2015 competition in July 2009, beating rival bids from Italy, Japan and South Africa. The organisers, Rugby World Cup Limited, had recommended England to the International Rugby Board, now known as World Rugby.

Of the 20 teams competing at the 2015 World Cup, 12 teams immediately qualified by finishing in the top three places in their pools in the 2011 World Cup.

The following eight teams qualified through their respective regional competitions. Of all the countries that competed in the previous World Cup in 2011, there was only one change – Uruguay replaced Russia.





Venue of each World Cup game

Brighton Community Centre

Number of matches 2 

19.09.2015 South Africa v Japan
20.09.2015 Samoa v USA

Elland Road (Leeds)

Number of matches 2 
26.09.2015 Italy v Canada
27.09.2015 Scotland v USA

Kingsholm Stadium (Gloucester) 

Number of matches 4 
19.09.2015 Tonga v Georgia
23.09.2015 Scotland v Japan
25.09.2015 Argentina v Georgia
11.10.2015 USA v Japan

Leicester City Stadium

Number of matches 3 
04.10.2015 Argentina v Tonga
06.10.2015 Canada v Romania
11.10.2015 Argentina v Namibia

Manchester City Stadium

Number of matches 1 
10.10.2015 England v Uruguay

Millennium Stadium (Cardiff)

Number of matches
19.09.2015 Ireland v Canada
20.09.2015 Wales v Uruguay
23.09.2015 Australia v Fiji
01.10.2015 Wales v Fiji
02.10.2015 New Zealand v Georgia
11.10.2015 France v Ireland
17.10.2015 QF2 (Winner Pool C v Runner-up Pool D)
18.10.2015 QF 3 (Winner Pool D v Runner-up Pool C)

Olympic Stadium (London)

Number of matches 5 
23.09.2015 France v Romania
24.09.2015 New Zealand v Namibia
04.10.2015 Ireland v Italy
07.10.2015 South Africa v USA
30.10.2015 Bronze Final

Sandy Park (Exeter)

Number of matches 3 
29.09.2015 Tonga v Namibia
07.10.2015 Namibia v Georgia
11.10.2015 Italy v Romania

St James’ Park (Newcastle) 

Number of matches 
03.10.2015 South Africa v Scotland
09.10.2015 New Zealand v Tonga
10.10.2015 Samoa v Scotland

Stadium MK (Milton Keynes)

Number of matches 3 
01.10.2015 France v Canada
03.10.2015 Samoa v Japan
06.10.2015 Fiji v Uruguay

Twickenham (London)

Number of matches 10 
18.09.2015 England v Fiji
19.09.2015 France v Italy
26.09.2015 England v Wales
03.10.2015 England v Australia
10.10.2015 Fiji v Uruguay
17.10.2015 QF1 (Winner Pool B v Runner-up Pool A)
18.10.2015 QF4 (Winner Pool A v Runner-up Pool B)
24.10.2015 SF1 (Winner QF1 v Winner QF2)
25.10.2015 SF2 (Winner QF3 v Winner QF4)
31.10.2015 Final

Villa Park

Number of matches 2 
26.09.2015 South Africa v Samoa
27.09. Australia v Uruguay

Wembley Stadium (London)

Number of matches 2
20.09.2015 New Zealand v Argentina
27.09.2015 Ireland v Romania



From 18th September to 31st October 2015, clear your calendars as SimpleTelly opens the doors to the Rugby World Cup on ITV player!